Walking the Talk: Knocking out Your Goals to Reach Your Vision

This week I accomplished two very significant goals. I submitted my final documents for my doula certification (Birth Arts International) and I completed the Biggest Loser Live training (AFAA). One of my VIA top five strengths is my love of learning. In my world this has the potential to propel me forward or pull me down, as I am always looking for the next opportunity. In any event, as I submitted the final documents to BAI I jumped for joy. Then I remembered I had not finished the AFAA training I started this past spring, so I set out a plan to complete 4 modules in a week, one per day. How does this help my birth work? The doula certification has been an unexpected journey of introspection about how my beliefs shape my birth work. The Biggest Loser training (while sounding sensational) taught me how to work more professionally with clients dealing with weight issues from a more holistic and compassionate position. I do definitely feel more knowledgeable and better equipped to apply my lessons learned.

Join the conversation

